

Foundation Presidency

TWO ISSUES AGO we reported on the change of presidential chairs on the Board of Governors. Now it is the turn of the Board of Trustees, the governing body of the California Arboretum Foundation.

After serving nine years as a member and the past two as president of this Board, Dr. Arie J. Haagen-Smit, the well known Caltech scientist and smog fighter, last month turned over his gavel and leadership to longtime Arcadia resident Ernest E. Hetherington, who, when he is not occupied with his duties as president and general manager of the Fred A. Stewart Orchid Company, can



Dr. Arie J. Haagen-Smit and Ernest E. Hetherington.

generally be found pursuing some worthy cause in the interest of the Arboretum.

The exchange came about as a result of an election which the Foundation holds each year. Dr. Haagen-Smit didn't lose. He had completed the nine-year limit, or three three-year terms allowed for membership on the Board.

We might profitably recap the Board structure at this point. There are a total of twenty-five members of the Board of Trustees. These are elected by the entire membership of the Foundation. There are four officers. They are elected by the trustees. Nominees are selected by a committee consisting of a chairman, member of the Board, and a member at large. They are appointed by the president. Members of the Board serve three-year terms with nine years the maximum.

This brings us to where we started. Dr. Haagen-Smit now becomes an honorary trustee for one year. Joining him as honorary trustees are Mrs. Rudolph J. Richards of Pomona, and past president Ralph D. Cornell. Elected with Mr. Hetherington were Mrs. Gordon K. Smith of San Marino, first vice-president; Mrs. John N. Fehrer of Altadena, second vice-president; and Donald Camphouse of Arcadia, secretary-treasurer. Reappointed for new three-year terms on the Board were Mrs. Miriam P. Kirk, Mrs. Gordon K. Smith, Mrs. Forrest Q. Stanton, and Mrs. Harry J. Bauer of Pasadena, and Mrs. George Marshall of West Los Angeles. Appointed to the Board for the first time were Mrs. Peter Douglas of Glendora, Ralph Spencer of Palos Verdes Estates, and Robert P. Strub of San Marino.

Dr. Stewart

I T HAS BEEN often observed that men come and go but institutions live on. The qualifier to this generalization, of course, is that it is men who make or mold institutions and the presence or ab-



1969. "Foundation presidency." Lasca leaves 19, 26.

View This Item Online: https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/item/132110

Permalink: https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/partpdf/144817

Holding Institution

Missouri Botanical Garden, Peter H. Raven Library

Sponsored by

Los Angeles Arboretum

Copyright & Reuse

Copyright Status: In copyright. Digitized with the permission of the rights holder.

Rights Holder: The Arboretum Library at the Los Angeles County Arboretum and Botanic

Garden

License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/
Rights: https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/permissions

This document was created from content at the **Biodiversity Heritage Library**, the world's largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. Visit BHL at https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org.