CALIFORNIA ARBORETUM FOUNDATION ANNUAL MEETING

A FINE SPRING rain greeted the annual meeting of the California Arboretum Foundation last May 5, causing the luncheon to be moved indoors but otherwise causing no disruption or lessening of enthusiasm for everything else on the agenda.

Following a box luncheon in the lecture hall, the business meeting got under way with the election by the general membership of new officers to the Board of Trustees for the regular three-year term. Mr. Warren Dunbar, chairman of the nominating committee which included Mrs. Edward Chapman and Mr. Walter Schoenfeld, presented the candidates. Elected were Mrs. Thomas Moore, Mrs. John Fehrer, Mrs. Varick Martin, Mrs. Dennis Buck, Mrs. Raymond Taylor, and Mr. Roy L. Kackly. Re-elected to their third three-year term were Mrs. Miriam Kirk, Mrs. Chester Williams, Mrs. John Grivich, Mr. Robert Strub, Mr. Ralph Spencer, Mr. Ernest Hetherington, and Judge Joseph Sprankle, Jr.

A report on the activities of Las Voluntarias in the past year was given by Mrs. Thomas Moore, pinch-hitting for Las Voluntarias president, Mrs. John Llewellyn, who was unable to attend. Mrs. Moore was presented with a plaque in appreciation of her accomplishments as past president of Las Voluntarias, among them an increase in membership to the

Other Board members reporting were Mr. D. Ramsay Lawson, on the Hall of Environmental Education, and treasurer Frank Regan who reported that the net profit from the recent Baldwin Bonanza was \$33,724, a figure six thousand dollars higher the

lars higher than last year's Bonanza.

Mrs. Leland Larson, first vice-president of the Foundation and a member of the Board of Governors, gave a summary of



Mrs. Leland E. Larson

the many activities at the Arboretum last year.

Director Francis Ching extended his welcome to the members and expressed his appreciation for their support of the Foundation and their invaluable help, particularly Las Voluntarias, in all areas of Arboretum activity.

Special guests at the meeting were Mrs. Marilyn C. Stoke, president of the Board of Governors; Mrs. Mary Bittner, member of the Board of Governors; and Mrs. Nancy Dunn, new president of the Descanso Gardens Guild.

Voted to top offices effective July 1, were Mrs. Leland Larson, president; Mrs. James Curry, 1st vice-president; and Mr. Robert Paradise, 2nd vice-president. Mrs. Larson appointed Mr. Warren Dunbar to the post of treasurer.

Although the rain prevented the running of trams, members had the pleasure of a tour of the new Tropical Greenhouse and then, for the annual plant distribution, had the choice of two plants; Callistemon pinifolius, the bottlebrush with

yellowish-green flower spikes, or Viburnum rigidum, a species that does better in this area than most viburnums.

NEW GUILD PRESIDENT

MRS. NANCY N. DUNN of Pasadena was elected president of the Descanso Gardens Guild at the Guild's annual meeting last February, succeeding



Mrs. Nancy N. Dunn

Mrs. Rodney Rood who had served a two-year term. Mrs. Rood will automatically become a member of the Guild Advisory Board and will also serve on a number of committees. During her long association with Descanso Gardens, which extends over twelve years, Mrs. Dunn has directed most of her efforts toward the development of the Guild's corps of volunteers. She is credited with forming the first docent program at Descanso in 1965. In addition to serving as chairman

of this program, she has served on numerous other community agencies, among them the Sierra Madre Girl Scout Council, the Pasadena branch of the NAACP, and the Washington Girls' Project under the Community Planning Council.

Mrs. Dunn is currently a member of the Descanso Gardens Guild Board of Trustees and the Red Cross Youth Advisory Committee in Pasadena. She is also a member of the Junior League.

After raising six children, Mrs. Dunn earned a B.A. degree at Occidental College in 1974 and is now working on a Master's degree in sociology at Cal State, Los Angeles.

Among the projects Mrs. Dunn hopes to see completed during her term of office are a new classroom and exhibit hall for lectures and flower shows, completion of a plant reference library in the Hospitality House, and further development of the Tuesday Gardens Tours.

New officers serving with Mrs. Dunn are Mrs. Lelamae Adams, vice-president in charge of the Project Board; Mrs. Merideth Wills, second vice-president; Mrs. Gerald J. Wells, recording secretary; Mrs. Melvin D. Burt, corresponding secretary; and Mrs. Jack Danz, treasurer.

AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF BOTANICAL GARDENS AND ARBORETA AWARDS PRESENTED

DR. MILDRED MATHIAS, recently retired director of botanical gardensherbarium and professor of botany at UCLA, and for many years a trustee and currently an honorary trustee of the California Arboretum Foundation, has been presented with an Award of Merit by the American Association of Botanical Gardens and Arboreta for her many achieve-



1976. "California Arboretum Foundation annual meeting." *Lasca leaves* 26, 39–40.

View This Item Online: https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/item/130958

Permalink: https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/partpdf/143402

Holding Institution

Missouri Botanical Garden, Peter H. Raven Library

Sponsored by

Los Angeles Arboretum

Copyright & Reuse

Copyright Status: In copyright. Digitized with the permission of the rights holder.

Rights Holder: The Arboretum Library at the Los Angeles County Arboretum and Botanic

Garden

License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/4.0/
Rights: https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org/permissions

This document was created from content at the **Biodiversity Heritage Library**, the world's largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives. Visit BHL at https://www.biodiversitylibrary.org.